Image

Building a hackintosh All in One with Mountain Lion


Apple don’t (yet) make an iMac that I want to buy, nor do they seem interested in doing so. Previously there were several reasons, but to date the only thing left is the ability to use the iMac as a display for my games console or any other HDMI device I wish to use it with.

Earlier ones had target display, but this was only available on the 27″ model ,which is far too big for me, and the only way to use HDMI on it was via an adaptor that would only support 720p and was reported to be not that reliable anyway.

The fun finally started when barebone AIO chassis started to appear with the Thin Mini-ITX standard, meaning you could build yourself a decent AIO and upgrade later also. Then came the Ivy Bridge processors with built-in graphics that I would consider just about good enough to use.

Moving away from my self built windows PC, which was a Core 2 Quad and Radeon 4830, which I was happy with performance wise, I set out to build an AIO hackintosh, as closely powerful as I could make it. The result so far:

  • Quad Core i5 3475S Ivy Bridge CPU (HD 4000)
  • 8 GB RAM
  • AIO Chassis with H61 chipset motherboard including HDMI Input
  • OS X Mountain Lion 10.8
  • Broadcom 4322AG a/b/g/n half size Wi-Fi

The target is, to use the software with no changes to the OS. Additional Kexts to make it work are acceptable.

2 comments on “Building a hackintosh All in One with Mountain Lion

  1. I’ve been through all the same and more with the Intel Loop and finally gave up and sold it Loop on eBay. The motherboard was Intel DQ77KB with Intel Core i7-3770S 3.1GHz CPU. I have this board fully functional in a desktop case, including HDMI and DisplayPort audio (by AppleIntelFrameBufferCapri.kext port edits).

    I was able to get multiple resolutions and acceleration working on the Loop, but only while 2 external displays were connected. When the Loop display was working one of the other displays would have black screen. What I found looking in IORegistry was that the EDID of my ASUS 27″ was being appended to the Loop EDID, it was twice as long as normal. I tried, extracting, editing and injecting EDID’s via DSDT and other ways known to work but no success. Short of it is that I spent many hours trying everything I know which was considerably more than posted in the Hack forums. Every time I was close to a fix that’s as far as I got, just close.

    My end conclusion is EDID is the main problem and possibly OSX looking for eDP connection (embedded DisplayPort) instead of the LVDS of the Loop display. I considered swapping the LCD/LED display for an eDP type but decided that was not that simple either.

    If you have seen Neil Hart’s Loop post at tonymacx86, he is a friend of mine. I was working on the Loop in the background at the same time, didn’t post anything.

    It would have been nice to get the Loop working but I think there is likely a purposeful blockage by the manufacturers of AIO’s to avoid an Apple lawsuit.

    Best Wishes on Hacking.

  2. wow, i thought i was alone

    its a shame you didn’t post earlier, the H61H2-TI motherboard which I put in the ECS G11 chassis (also mentioned on this blog – https://rr7blog.wordpress.com/2013/03/02/testing-a-new-ihac-contender/) works well in the AIO chassis with the HD4000 and all plus it has mSATA. I think that would have gotten you the system you wanted. my problem with that board is to do with HDMI-Input, something which is important to me on a daily basis, but the Intel board you had didn’t have this feature anyway. I would have loved to have used that board in a loop chassis, but they were unavailable in the UK at the time and even now are quite expensive (I got both my chassis on the cheap)

    with the EDID thing, I tried hooking up my display to the other AIO, grabbing the EDID and trying to inject that using clover, for some reason this has an effect on adding a VGA EDID (doesn’t fix it, just fakes the display connected) but not HDMI. like I posted before, its the driver detecting/allocating the wrong displaypipe that’s my issue on the M650, and since both pipes are different (one is HDMI/DVI the other is VGA) the display is garbed.

    with regards to eDP, I don’t think that’s your problem personally. the M650 i’m having all the trouble with is already connected via eDP.

    i’m not sure who Neil Hart is, can you give me a link?

Leave a Reply

